Novelized

Personal Writings And Book Reviews

The Little Man In The Map November 18, 2008

Filed under: Homeschool Crew,reviews — novelized @ 2:27 pm

 

The Little Man In The Map is a book that uses imagination and creativity to help teach geography to kids.  It is written by E. Andrew Martonyi and Illustrated by Ed Olson.  You can find it at: www.schoolsidepress.com 

Here’s what I thought:

First let me say, I HATE Geography!!  I did horrible at it in school and I actually couldn’t tell you where any state but MI was on a map (I learned OK too when we moved).  Geography has been something I have learned for my kids, so that I can teach them what I could not learn.  It was never fun for me.

For our review we used a very cheap wooded state puzzel (often found at dollar stores . . .ours was from the dollar section of Target) to give the hands-on learning.  We read the book together and looked at and held each State as it was mentioned.  The kids had fun matching their puzzel with the creative illustrations in the book. The Little Man In The Map is a tool to bring joy to learning the state’s locations.

It is a very creative tool for teaching visual learners U.S. Geography.  My daughter loved it!  She has been memorizing every picture and noticing every detail in the beautiful and colorfully rich illustrations.  She takes a book to bed with her every night and it has been her choice nightly since receiving it. 

The website gives good information and descriptions of other man in the map products (like their 38×22 inch wall map for $21.95).  You can also download FREE coloring pages for the man in the map!  These are really nice features and make the cost of the book seem more resonable.   

I should also tell you that they are working on a Teacher’s guide as well.  It includes a crossword ( a little too difficult for my little ones . . .but great for 8 and up). 

The Little Man In The Map can be purchased for $19.95 at the site.  Check it out.

Some may appreciate knowing that:

Their slogan is “Imagination is the magic key.”

The word magic is used to discribe the feelings of imagination, not in a way to promote offense to Christians.  I, personally, was not offended at all.  I was just generally appreciative of the joy of learning geography that MIM brought to my home.  

If you are a homeschooler who opposes fairytale characters like elves though, it may not be for you.

Also feel free to visit the Author’s Blog at:http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/FrogsJumpUSA/

(not much is there right now, but hopefully with this nice little prompt there will be soon) 

For Chloe this was a 

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

