Novelized

Personal Writings And Book Reviews

Uncompromised Faith (a book review) April 12, 2009

Filed under: Heather's writings,reviews — novelized @ 10:43 pm

S. Michael Craven is an author who identifies himself as a speaker who “works to challenge the spiritual apathy and cultural indifference of the church. . .”  In his book, Uncompromised Faith Overcoming Our Culturalized Christianity, He does exactly that through his intense look at our cultural decline that has lead us progressively farther away from God.

Readers will be convinced of the need to step up and be the people of God above being people of religion.  They will learn through Craven’s research and statistics the severe state that the American church is in.  They’ll be stirred up and angry, and different as a result.

Craven addresses issues in a thorough manner.  His book is an excellent call to action among Christians to produce true faith that isn’t laced with idolatry, post modernistic polluted views of God, or sin-tolerant complacency.  He encourages Christians to be the real deal.

Craven doesn’t just encourage Christians to stand against sin, but to reach out in love and compassion to the sinner.  This is such a refreshing view.  Craven in no way bends to the culture, but he loves the people as Christ did and doesn’t shut the door to their potential salvation with a jaded hypocrisy that can turn a heart away from God quickly.  Christians can learn and grow from his Godly example of balance as he hates sin and lovesthe sinner.  This book will challenge you to represent God intelligently, and in a way that is true and pleasing to God.

You can find Uncompromised Faith here.

 

5 Responses to “Uncompromised Faith (a book review)”

  1. Dear Heather,
    Thank you so much for your very gracious, thoughtful, and well-written review. Your words help me to know that the Lord was pleased to use my work. This blesses me. Thank you!

    In Him,
    Michael

  2. I happily endorsed this excellent book and I am grateful that you give readers a solid response. I hope they will see this book not as just another treatment of culture and Christianity but as a definitive, but readable, treatment that is desperately needed by every one who cares for the life of the church in our society.

  3. Danny Clark Says:

    I viewed the program, Day-Star, and the comments that you had made about the person that you had with you on the collage campus, and your respons to his ministry of Gods word. Let us never think, no matter how clever our thinking, and ideas may be, that, it can awaken those who are dead in sin. Only Gods word and the power of God the Holy Spirt can make alive those dead in sin. You gave me the impression that to start with the questions you asked people could somehow bring people to the knowlage of the truth. Read, please, very cearfully 1Pet. 1:23, and John 6:63. Salvation hinges on hearing and believing Gods word. John 5:24. Not what man may write about it, no matter how good it is. In all fairness to you sir, I have not read your book. However, I heard enough of your comments to know that your doctrin and the aproch of your ministry is part of the emerging church movement. Therefore, I would not read your book for one simpel reason, Scripture is the absolute authority, and Jesus Christ is the absolute exclusivity of salvation of humankind. I leave you with this, PS. 2:3 “Boast no more so very proudly, do not let arroganse come out of your mouth; for the Lord is a God of knowledge, and with Him actions are weighed”. As your frind that you had with you was persecuted, remember,the words of Jesus Christ in John 15:20 “Remember the word that I said to you, A slave is not greater than his master. If they persecuted Me, they will also persecute you;….. Join your frind, and the glory will be to God dispite the laughter.

    In the strong Name of God Jesus Christ

    Danny

    • novelized Says:

      Danny,
      In the effort of fairness, I am letting your comment stand. I hate all forms of censorship and I’m open to knowing other’s opinions. Your comment seems aimed at the author directly. Please know that this site is simply a personal blog where I am reviewing books I’ve had the pleasure of reading. I’m not the author and I have not seen what you are referring to on Daystar. I won’t defend the personal beliefs of anyone that I don’t personally know. I will say that, as a Pastor’s wife, I found no Biblical error or offense in Craven’s book. My husband read it too and really enjoyed it. As a reviewer I have learned that I won’t love everything. I won’t always see the beauty and value that others might see. His style doesn’t seem to be a fit for you and that’s okay. I believe there are and will be many readers who will grow and learn from Uncompromised Faith. Please don’t discount them. Remember Phillipians 4:8.
      Blessings,
      Heather

  4. Danny Clark Says:

    Heather, thank you for the encouragement of Phil.4:8. My point exactly. “whatever is true,….whatever is right. …..Remember, truth, is in Jesus. And my point is that we start with Christ and if we are lead by God’s Spirit the love and compassion will be manifested through our witness. Mr. Craven gave me the impression, by his comments on Daystar, that we start by finding out the thougths of those who are lost. That would be a deductive aproach to the gospel,rather than an inductive witness. The only way that the intrinsic, eternal, perfections of God will ever be shone forthe is through the living testimony of the Lord Himself, sense, thats who restores the soul of the lost. I’m hesitant of anyone who would put confidence in anything other than wisdom that comes from the living Word of God Himself. “The Living Church” by John Stott, or “Hard to Believe” by John Macarthur are to excellent books of this subject. I dont know Mr. Craven but what he said last night on Daystar program is far from Christ centered. Heather, what a privilege it is to speek with you on this book. Its been a joy.

    Much Peace to you and your husband.

    Danny


Leave a Reply

